Your whole life passes before your eyes. You were involved in a car accident. You survived but you may have sustained some injuries. Many people go through it. It’s scary and may completely out of your control. Now you have to deal with the consequences. It’s important to be prepared as much as you can beforehand so that you have a smooth and easy case. It’s important to know that California has a minimum liability requirement for your insurance coverage. You can have more insurance that that as well. It’s also important to know things you shouldn’t do once you get into a car accident.
Minimum Liability Coverage
Many states have a minimum liability car insurance requirement, California being one of them. The California law dictates the minimum amount of liability insurance coverage a driver must have. The minimum amount that a person must have for the injury or death of any person (not necessarily another driver or passenger but also can be someone like a pedestrian) is set at $15,000. You must have $30,000 in coverage for the injury or death of more than one person in the accident that you caused. You must also have $5,000 in coverage for damaging property in an accident that you caused. This liability will kick in when you let someone else drive your vehicle like another family member for example. This liability doesn’t apply to your personal injuries or vehicle damage caused by the accident. You may also need more coverage if the other driver’s insurance doesn’t apply. In this case you may want to get uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.
Things You Shouldn’t Do
There a number of things you shouldn’t do after you get into a car accident in the state of California. Make sure you don’t sign any authorizations that are sent from the other driver’s insurance. If you sign these then you are giving their insurance the ability to obtain your medical and employment records. This could be used negatively against you. If you are injured in the car accident then make sure you don’t enter into a settlement for personal injury claim until you know the full extent of your injuries and how much your medical bills will cost. This may be one of the hardest to do but it’s important to not discuss the accident with anyone. Only tell your doctor the full nature and extent of your injuries. Make sure when expressing this you don’t exaggerate your injuries as this can be seen as fraud, a serious crime, and you can be legally punished. Also, make sure you don’t settle on a property damage claim until all repairs are made to your vehicle and they are done to your complete satisfaction.
Car accidents happen everyday and often, no one is prepared for it. Trying to fight with the insurance company and/or the other driver is the last thing you want to do. You need someone with a lot of experience. Edward “Skip” Babbitt has over 30 years of experience. He covers all types of practice areas including motorcycle accidents and bicycle accidents. Call his office today at 619-543-1789 to schedule your free initial consultation.